Google is implementing auto-delete controls for your Location History and activity data

Written about 1 year ago by IanDorfman

Google is now introducing new functionality that will automatically delete data from your Google Account after intervals of either 3 or 18 months.

Back in October of 2018, Google gave people more control over the apps that use their Google account info as well as the information itself. The management of this data had to be done manually, even if it was something as basic and routine as full deletion. With today's changes, Google is making it much easier for users to automate the deletion process.

In a blog post by Small Google Search iconGoogle Search Product Manager David Monsees and Small Google Maps iconGoogle Maps Product Manager Marlo McGriff, it was detailed that you can either choose to continue to delete all or some of your account data manually, keep it for 18 months and then have it automatically deleted, or have it kept for 3 months and then have it automatically deleted.

This new auto-deletion functionality will be made available "in the coming weeks" to Location History and Web & App Activity, with other categories of data stored by Google Accounts receiving support for it later on. Other dates and release windows have yet to be announced.

Further coverage:
Google blog
gHacks Tech News
The Hacker News
The Next Web
The Verge