WhatsApp users that don't agree to its new terms will have their accounts eventually deleted

Written 2 days ago by IanDorfman

If you use WhatsApp and don't agree to the new privacy policy and terms of use instituted in January of this year by May 15th, your account will eventually be deleted.

As discovered by Martin Brinkmann of gHacks, this deadline is actually an extension of the original February 8th, 2021 date. This extension was primarily influenced by the extreme backlash from users and extensive media coverage. Despite this, the eventuality of Small WhatsApp iconWhatsApp account deletion was not recanted.

A WhatsApp Help Center FAQ detailed how not accepting these new policies will impact users. If not accepted by March 15th, the FAQ states they will be "able to receive calls and notifications" but will no longer be able to send or receive messages. This will be implemented via an inactive user policy applied to anyone who doesn't accept the new terms. The policy states that accounts will be deleted after 120 days of inactivity.

Anyone who knows they will not accept the new terms can request a report of their account data and export their chats on both Android and iOS. You can also request account deletion.

Further coverage:
gHacks Tech News