Instagram will now alert users that are close to having their account banned

Written 11 months ago by IanDorfman

In an effort to strengthen moderation policies, Instagram will now send notifications to users who are close to having their accounts banned for violating the photo sharing social network's guidelines.

The notifications sent will include a summary that includes the posts, comments, and stories removed from your account and why. They also warn that “If you post something that goes against our guidelines again, your account may be deleted.”

Though this change may seem sudden in harsh, it is actually an implementation of transparency that gives potentially offending users more insight into why their accounts are being deleted. Before this, moderation and account deletion was comparatively invisible.

In addition to these new alerts, the social network will also allow users to appeal this moderation directly from the notification so they don't have to go through the process via its help center. That said, the amount of content that can be appealed is currently limited based on content. For instance, content moderated based on nudity or hate speech can be appealed, but content moderated for other reasons cannot. Over time, Instagram aims to further expand the amount of content that can be appealed.

The new moderation notification system is now rolling out across the social network.

Further coverage:
The Verge