Dropbox Transfer file sending feature now available for all users
The Dropbox cloud file storage service now supports simple file sending via a new feature called Dropbox Transfer.
Dropbox Transfer allows any Dropbox user to upload and send files with a limit ranging from 100 MB (for free users) to 100 GB (for Professional, Business Advanced, Enterprise, and Education users), even if the intended recipient isn't a Dropbox user themselves. Dropbox has laid out a clear alternative to services such as WeTransfer and Firefox Send with the introduction of Transfer, though there are key points to keep in mind, both good and bad.
For those looking to see how popular a certain file was when shared, Transfer owners can see the number of times a transfer was viewed or downloaded. For simplicity and security, files shared via a transfer won’t appear in the recipient’s Dropbox folder. This is a one-way file sending service. Because of this, recipients can’t edit files within a transfer, emphasizing the fact that this service is not for collaboration. Transfers automatically expire after 7 days, which doesn't compare favorably to WeTransfer's free 2 GB file size limit available for 14 days.
Though files shared using Dropbox Transfer will not appear in a recipient's Dropbox folder, users of the service's iOS app does can access a download list of transfers sent to them. This allows for a basic Dropbox Transfer download history. Another feature new for the Transfer feature's public release is support for basic background and logo customization for individual Transfer download pages. This allows, for example, companies to brand files sent internally using Dropbox with their iconography.
Transfers can be initiated from the web using dropbox.com/transfer, the Dropbox desktop app, and the service's iOS app. Though recipients don't need a Dropbox account, senders need to at least be registered on the service's free Basic plan.
Dropbox Transfer is now available for all registered Dropbox users. Dropbox has laid out use instructions as well as file size limits based on which plan you have in an official support article.