Trillian Reviews

almost 300 likes .... are you out of your mind people?

Negative Review by igenn
about Trillian and Jitsi Oct 2016

about this piece of &#>@! : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trillian_(software)

SecureIM is an encryption system built into the Trillian Instant Messenger Client.

  • SecureIM does not authenticate its messages, and therefore it is susceptible to active attacks including simple forms of man-in-the-middle attacks
  • !!!!!128 bit!!!! Diffie–Hellman key exchange (today 2048 bit is the minimum), it can be broken within minutes on a standard PC
  • It only works with the OSCAR protocol and if both chat partners use Trillian

UNBELIEVABLE, spit on 'em & RUN!
Are they asking money for it??? It must be shown in schools or to the world: "How to recognize a fake-secure software" !!!

"Security and privacy.We take this stuff seriously" - trillian :D

try:
- Jitsi or its open source alternatives

Reply

wiked community a turn off, will not use

Negative Review by ohmyno
about Trillian Apr 2016

Forum regulars are wicked to Western Civilization while forum policies are absurdly evil.

Client application has increasingly become bloatware and restrictive.

Reply

Use to use this a lot, but these days, don't need it

Review by balupton
about Trillian Sep 2015

This was great in the time of Windows/Live Messenger and Google Chat, however these days I find I just use iMessage, Telegram, and Slack - which really demand direct experiences, rather than 3rd party experiences like Trillian.

Reply

It is truly the absolute BEST Multi-IM client around (and now there is a native linux version too!) -1 Helpful

Positive Review by mce128
about Trillian Apr 2015

I've been using Trillian for many MANY years now. I bought a lifetime pro license for it as it didn't make sense to do the annual renewals @$20 when the lifetime license is only $60!

The windows version runs GREAT under wine, so long as you can live with one slightly annoying bug, but for me and quite a few other people I know, it is not a dealbreaker. A few of the modules in the preferences cause the application (and wine) to crash. They aren't very important settings in terms of everyday use and if you really need to change any of them, you can edit the .ini files in its installation directory. Aside from that minor annoyance it rather rocks!

There have been some people who have reported that in KDE, when a new message comes in and it opens the new IM window that it steals the keyboard input focus. It doesn't seem to happen to everyone and to those it does happen, you can fix it by changing the focus stealing sensitivity in your System Settings.

Now that all said, there is now a native linux client!!!! Very cool! For a long time, it was pretty rough and I would only use it for testing things and report back to the dev team (it was still in the private beta back then.) It is now in public beta and on version 2.0.0.4 and the interface is greatly improved and it seems that they have most if not all of the obvious bugs and annoyances out of the public beta version It still isn't quite the same as the windows version yet, but they are slowly adding all the same features. I've personally waited for the day they did this for very many years and sent them emails regularly over the years as well. It is really great to see companies supporting linux like this!

Also, I saw someone several years ago complaining that it wasn't sending their screen name properly, there is a setting where you can override your screennames, I wonder if that was set and then value to be sent was accidentally left as an empty string?

It really is an awesome Multi-IM client, you should use it!

As of April 2015, this is a link to the current version of the public beta (2.0.0.4) https://www.trillian.im/get/linux/2.0/linux.html

Reply

abusive company; api hacks for functionality; ZERO privacy via Cerulean caching service 1 Helpful

Negative Review by Unwasted_Youth
about Trillian and Microsoft Lync, Psi+, Jitsi Jul 2014

The intellectually weak and emotionally abusive haunt the "support" forums. I am not alone in this experience. The Cerulean people have irritated some technology people to the extent of a PR backlash.

avoid, else seek refund

Better functionality for multiprotocol employment via

Jitsi (SIP & XMPP, and the others)

Psi+ (SIP & XMPP, and the others)

Reply

Light weight

Positive Review by najdantomic
about Trillian and Skype Oct 2013

I wanted to have some alternative for Skype with support for other services like gmail checker. You don't need Skype client to be installed to use this Trillian. It takes less RAM than Skype and plus is you can set up other social networks for example Facebook, Twitter etc.

You can pay for it but without paying you can have everything you need, but with some ads. User interface is changeable with skins and there are emotions packages for Skype etc.

I would recommend it, it's lightweight it can check your mails and many other things.

Reply

Difficult

Negative Review by Reprotected
about Trillian Jul 2011

In my own experiences, it was difficult to use, sluggish, and it just doesn't seem to be the perfect IM when compared to WLM. Display name and picture fails to show up on other people's screens, and it just feels like your account is hijacked.

Reply