Spotify Reviews

The Best Music Streaming Service You Can Buy 1 Helpful

Positive Review by arkadiydeliev
about Spotify Aug 2016

THE GOOD / Spotify wears a fresh, clean design and goes beyond streaming music with videos, podcasts and extra features. It's massive collection of community-driven playlists mean you can find great music for any mood, activity or holiday. The free, ad-supported version offers a good introduction to the service with no time limit.

THE BAD / Combining your own music files with Spotify's catalog is a complicated endeavour. There are no live radio stations, and without a Premium account, you cannot listen offline or pick any song you want to hear. It's family plan can be more expensive than Apple Music's.

THE BOTTOM LINE / Despite increasing competition, Spotify is still the top of the pack for streaming music.

Reply

AFTER blocking the ads spotify is a decent service

Negative Review by KillAdwareDevelopers
about Spotify Apr 2016

Learn how to do this yourself.

Third party ads SELL privacy for profit.

You have a right to privacy: AdBlock!

Reply

Be Prepared To Be Screwed Over

Negative Review by MeganInIT
about Spotify Apr 2016

So I've been a Spotify user for a few years now and slowly they are showing their true colours. So when I started using it I was a free user, well I saw a promo, it was 99 cents for 3 months, then 99 cents per month afterwards. So I went for it. Now I talked to people who all said it was like that, well after a few months they charge me $10. Well I of course ask and they say no it isn't $1 but $10. So I went back to the free version.

The free version over the past 6 months has gotten worse. The desktop app is bad but not as bad as I'm sure it could be, the mobile app is hot garbage. You have next to little control over anything here and it's clearly a marketing ploy to get you on the premium plan.

Problem is, who in their right mind would fall for this again!? I expected that they'd rescind and offer $1 a month but no, they know it's a money making scheme; and I'd be fine with it, if the mobile apps weren't so awful.

Reply

Good catalogue and features, bad apps and support 1 Helpful

Review by Anamon
about Spotify Mar 2016

The most important thing about any music streaming service is probably its catalogue, and Spotify is still by far the best in that regard. The completeness of its catalogue is unrivalled among its competitors. Others might lure with similar, or even higher, numbers of songs supposedly available, but in the end, it's about the licensing partners. In other words, while one service might have 1 million additional tribute and karaoke versions, you'll probably be more interested in the 500 additional, "actual" tracks that Spotify offers from, say, a major label artist. I keep checking other services on occasion, and the hit rate of stuff I look for (I have a pretty eclectic taste in music, so my searches include a lot of unsigned artists or really old recordings) is still the best on Spotify, by a large margin.

What isn't Spotify's fault is that the catalogue can still be a bit fickle, with license holders reneging on their deals regularly. I compile playlists of my new discoveries, and when I go back to one that is a couple of months or years old, I find sometimes 1 in 50, sometimes 1 in 20, sometimes 1 in 10 tracks marked as no longer available from the Spotify catalogue. Spotify has a pretty reliable algorithm to seamlessly play the same track from another release if it can find it (such as a compilation album), but it's (thankfully) pretty conservative in wanting to find exact matches, and, of course, if a track is gone completely due to licensing restrictions, it will just be gone.

Things that are Spotify's fault are the apps and customer service. It seems that both QA and customer support are practically non-existent.

The desktop clients have taken a particular turn for the worse with the v0.9.8 update (sometime in 2014 I think). The entire design was based around touchscreen interaction, meaning that scrollbars are practically invisible, and everything takes up an unnecessary, obscene amount of space. Playlists now have a line spacing of about 3.0, which is just ridiculous. It's obviously designed around the fat finger problem of touchscreens, and is a horrible mismatch for a desktop environment that you use with a mouse. Whereas I used to be able to see almost 40 tracks of a playlist on screen at once, it's now down to less than half of that, which makes curating playlists a huge hassle. It was the reason why I disabled Spotify's auto-update and stayed on version 0.9.7 until very recently, but the inevitable protocol changes have finally made that no longer be a viable solution, because it doesn't return all search results anymore.

There are a lot of other problems with the client, as there seems to be very little testing going into them, and the priorities the development team sets are highly questionable. Essential features that break in an update are sometimes left unfixed for years, despite hundreds of people complaining on the forums. In turn, they can't seem to tire of endless UI "streamlining" that goes against what most people want.

As an example, the 0.9.8 removed the desktop client's option to change the cache directory to a custom location — essential for many SSD users who don't want Spotify cluttering up their limited system partition space. After much pleading and complaining, Spotify re-implemented the option (they said it was always planned, but as always, it took them ages). However, the option was only restored visually. You get the setting and you can choose a path, only to find that the client creates the folders but then ignores them, and keeps filling up the default location. It's quite simply broken, it's been like that for more than half a year now, and despite numerous people reporting the bug on the forums, it remains unfixed. People have to resort to ugly hacks like symlinks to keep using the client, which should not be their job. I personally opted for the method of denying write access to the default cache location, so Spotify isn't able to cache at all anymore. I figure if customer complaints are not enough incentive for Spotify to finally fix the bug, maybe increased server costs are.

Many people argue these issues with the desktop client are because Spotify wants people to switch to mobile apps and the web player. It's true that the mobile apps seem to be a bit cleaner, but if anything, the state of the web player is even worse. The most simple functionality like drag & drop is still missing after all these years, so you can't re-order tracks or drag them to another playlist (in fact, the mobile app can't either, you need the desktop client for that). This would be no problem at all with HTML5, they simply choose to not implement it. Much worse is the lack of playlist folder support. If you have several hundred playlists, like me, sorting them into folders is essential. The web player lumps them all together into one single chaotic list, and consequently slows down to a crawl, often freezing for tens of seconds when it needs to load the list of playlists. The web player is utterly broken and hasn't seen any substantial updates or fixes every since it has been publicly released.

Which brings me to the final point of customer support, which I don't think exists. I suppose you can contact someone if you have billing issues; I wouldn't know because I pay my subscription through a partner, so my billing inquiries would go through them. As far as technical support goes, though, you'll search the website in vain. All you can find are the community forums, which are, as the name implies, run and moderated by community volunteers. There is an ideas board that is frequented by official moderators, who supposedly forward the feedback to the development team, although you wouldn't know it from how little of what's reported is actually getting fixed. There is not even a way to submit a simple bug report.

So in short, give the free version a try to see if you can handle the clients in their current state – don't expect improvements, see if you can deal with them as they are, and be prepared for features being removed or broken at some point. Check if the catalogue serves your tastes well. I'll still stick with Spotify becaues, in the end, catalogue trumps the other issues as long as I can still reasonably listen to my music and create my playlists on the desktop and on my phone. But the market is only getting harsher, and Spotify would do well to take their customers' concerns a lot more seriously if they want to stick around.

Reply

Keeps getting worse

Negative Review by mattyvasquez
about Spotify and Deezer Jun 2015

Every release for the last 2 years removes another feature, take a look on the Spotify support forums to confirm this. Users are getting annoyed by the desktop app being changed to be more aligned with the web and mobile versions, but each version also introduces new bugs. Drag and drop, local file support, library restrictions - all getting worse. There used to be a great library of apps for sharing and building playlists - these are all now gone and replaced by Spotify's own services, which are sketchy at best.

Take a look at Deezer before trying this...

Reply

Keeps getting better

Positive Review by Gitty
about Spotify May 2015

try this

Reply

Not bad, but not amazing either

Positive Review by LukaD
about Spotify and Grooveshark Mar 2012

Now that Spotify is available in Germany I must say it's pretty good.
You get really precise search results (although I can't find as much exotic and unkown songs as I could with Grooveshark [back then, when one could use it in germany]) and high quality streaming is available.
Unfortunately the Android app is horrible. It's clunky and slow and a bad excuse for a music player.
What I particularly hate about it is that you can only make playlists available offline. When I listen to music I never use playlists, I just listen to albums.

[Edited by LukaD, March 19]

Reply

To call the others alternatives to Spotify is ridiculous.

Review by MattPerkins
about Spotify and iTunes Jun 2011

Ok first off none of those are actual alternatives to Spotify. Spotify is like iTunes with playlists of the current top songs, artists and albums already added and which updates when the Billboards change. You can choose which songs off the list you wish to play and can even search for others to play.

To call the others alternatives to Spotify is ridiculous. An alternative does what Spotify does not one thing or another. Hell if something with just one thing can be an alternative to Spotify you can add any audio player or music service available and call it an alternative. How about actually looking for a true alternative to Spotify?

Reply