Remote Desktop Manager Reviews

RDM saves us tons of time

Positive Review by cryogenx
about Remote Desktop Manager Aug 2016

We can manage credentials and set permissions on server access as well as have a singular place to manage all our different connections

its freaking great


The only tool you need for remote server access

Positive Review by thomashiggins
about Remote Desktop Manager Aug 2016

I found RDM as a solution to consolidate PuTTY and MS Remote Desktop, but it is so much more. I now use it for those things (managing around 400 different connections), SQL Server Connections, Web accounts (good bye Dashlane), VMware vCenter connections, and even some other applications (such as RVTools). It supports VPN connections as well, though I don't use that feature yet (haven't taken the time to learn to set it up).

All this, and it is free. There is even more in the paid version (well worth it for those who have a lot of connections as I do). Batch Edit and AD connectivity are just two I have regular use for. Other features, such as expanded SQL Server support (Netonly Logon for example) are used semi-regularly as well. Every time I think I hit the limit on what this tool can do to make my connectivity life easier, I find it is almost always just a hidden feature.

The only downside (if you call it that) is that it doesn't support two factor authentication with all common 2FA solutions - yet. It is in the works. Some are already supported (Duo, Yubikey, and a few others) . Unfortunately for me, RSA is not one of them yet. Hardly a deal breaker given everything it does do.


If you remember VisionApp Remote Desktop before ASG bought it RDM is the successor and superior in every way!

Positive Review by ensignfodder
about Remote Desktop Manager Jul 2016

RDM allows you to connect to almost anything you need to manage in anyway you need to manage it. RDP, SSH, ASDM, iLO, DRAC, vCenter, and more. Between the basic install capabilities and the plug-ins (company provided) you can have a single management interface for all your different systems that don't have a single pane for management. Two factor authentication, multiple user management with central server (business or enterprise) options, and other protections against unauthorized access. Integration with third party security stores (Keepass i.e.) or cloud storage.

I have been using it for years and it continues to improve and provide new features.

[Edited by ensignfodder, July 27]


System Administration Streamlined

Positive Review by frankmcc
about Remote Desktop Manager Jul 2016

This is a product that I strongly believe in. Rarely does a tool come along that becomes your entire toolbox. In the course of doing my daily work, I have to make hundreds of connections to remote servers, manage those servers, databases, web sites, application servers and developers. RDM gives me a centralized, single pane of glass from which to do all of it. I can store passwords using my favorite password manager, Keepass, write and assign scripts, manage services, and build custom connections to every device, server and workstation I manage.

The best part is that my entire team can use this and we don't have to keep redundant information in multiple places. Now, we can collaborate as a team, updating and sharing tools and connections in a way that makes all more efficient!


I use RDM on a daily basis!

Positive Review by BenL
about Remote Desktop Manager Jul 2016

I've been using Remote Desktop Manager for many years now. I started by using the free version and soon moved to the Enterprise version once I saw all the features I was missing out on!

I use it everyday, throughout my day. I have connections saved for servers I manage on a regular basis, I have all my credentials stored for each of my accounts, I have URLs for internal sites that I use regularly, I have file shares, FTP connections, SSH sessions, the list goes on and on... I currently have about 900 sessions saved in my RDM client.

You won't go wrong using this tool. Ontop of the great tool, is the great support you will receive! They're very receptive to feature requests, they have an online forum where you can post questions and usually get an answer to your question/issue VERY quickly!

If you work in IT, this is the only remote connectivity tool you'll need!


Devolutions User

Review by beeharryshiam
about Remote Desktop Manager Jul 2016

I am a Devolution user since January 2016 and I can say that this is the best tool ever for remote connection through RDM.


One of the best IT tools Ever! RDP on steroid

Positive Review by tommyboucher
about Remote Desktop Manager May 2016

Been using Remote Desktop Manager for a while, and I have to say that it helps me a lot. I spend most of my day to day times in Remote Desktop Manager for deployment, maintenance and troubleshooting of my servers and devices. I use it to keep my SSH session to my switch, VNC to linux servers and RDP to my Windows computer. It is so helpful everyday.

- Central database for all your sessions and credentials
- Share with your team using Roles and Groups
- Can connect any kind of remote session (from SSH to RDP,...)
- Multi-Platform, including Mobile
- Great Tabs view
- Many tools, like running command to multiple servers or get inventory

- The cloud version is a little expansive
- Mac version is a little limited