RecentX Reviews

An alternative that works

Positive Review by rockesci
about RecentX and Ava Find Apr 2016

I totally love this as an alternative to Avafind.

Reply

I bought it and I'm a cheapskate

Positive Review by grantspoon
about RecentX Mar 2016

Searching and managing files is a critical aspect of any O/S, I've yet to find one that does it really well, but RecentX is better than most and I'd say better than Windows10 search as well (mostly).

pros:

  • RecentX sits nicely on the side of my desktop (pc) and is always available quickly.
  • easy view of most recent file history, decent search and filters for files. Decent view of browser history.
  • when it works it is faster than using windows, especially if i want a list of most recent files, or want to see the entire path of the file.
  • quick filters are customizable for file type
  • helps me find files, folders, recent websites, better than windows 10.

Cons:

  • has been a bit buggy for me. Have had to reboot 4+ times to get it working correctly over a month period. While creating this comment in fact and comparing it to Win10 recent files, I had to close RecentX and upon reopen lost it's settings again so will have to reboot after writing this. Suspect it has something to do with having many other programs open that are "listening" or "indexing" file history like sync programs and even windows indexing etc. Still, kinda annoying. I wish I could disable some features like clipboard monitoring and program history, perhaps that would fix things performance wise.
  • is not as responsive as I'd like when refreshing view of files (does it automatically), or time to open files when clicked, but is acceptable.

Overall after a month of use I can recommend it, just wish it were a little less buggy and better on performance.

[Edited by grantspoon, March 10]

Reply

Great App!

Review by orbaypeken
about RecentX Mar 2016

It searches your whole drives, containing server/network drives, and find anything you want just in seconds! It will be really necessary who use network drives or NAS ( like Wd my cloud etc. )

Reply

RecentX review

Positive Review by jcctbam
about RecentX and Listary, Direct Folders, ClipDesk Jan 2016

I have used several programs similar to RecentX but all of them have some drawbacks:

  • DirectFolders:
    Pros: It's free and easy to use and lunch.
    Cons: Does not work in Windows 10
    Does not have Clipboard history

  • Listary:
    Pros: It's free
    Cons:
    Needs a lot of computer resources
    I don't like the interaction with Explorer windows.
    You type a letter in the Folder explorer and Listary is shown
    Does not have Clipbard history

  • ClipDiary
    Pros: Not too many
    Cons: It's not free.
    I hace experienced some problems: sometimes I select one item but the software selects another one
    Does not manage recent folders

After spending a lot of time trying different programs, RecentX is, by no doubt, the best one.

Reply

RecentX Review 1 Helpful

Review by John1417
about RecentX May 2015

Hi All,

I'd like to share my expression about the recently discovered by me RecentX software. This is a tiny but very useful application, which can help all of us to browse through a lot of files and folders on our PCs.

Using this application we can navigate between folders just by a couple mouse clicks, it helps us to save files in the correct places and much more!

You can tag the files and folders and organize them by subjects, dates, etc.

I'm personally recommend this software very much!

Thank you!

Reply

4.0.10 - Much better version!

Positive Review by danielson
about RecentX Dec 2014

Took a long time coming but well worth the wait!

GUI has been revamped quite nicely.
Addition of very simple and yet quite effective clipboard is a nice plus.
The option to keep app running on taskbar only is welcome.

Would like to see more shortcuts (tags for one) and option to view and increase clipboard memory.
Sticky notes option maybe?

Great piece of software!

Reply

Tags

Review by michaelwillis
about RecentX Dec 2014

Is there a way of making just the tags appear first each time I open Recent X rather than having the full list? or have I missed something?

Reply

Recent Improvement

Positive Review by JTG
about RecentX Dec 2014

I appreciate the recent addition of the interaction with entering folders into the Windows Explorer "Open" and "Save as" dialogs. It really can save a lot of time. Thank you for that welcome addition. The new interface is very pleasant and the program seems to have improved overall in its accuracy and speed. All in all I recommend the program wholeheartedly.

Reply