Image description

Quake (series)

Quake is a series of first-person shooter video games released by id Software.

  • Mac OS X
  • Windows
  • Linux
  • Steam

Quake is a series of first-person shooter video games released by id Software.

In the game, players must find their way out of various maze-like, medieval environments while battling a variety of monsters using a wide array of guns. The successor to id’s Small Doom (Series) iconDoom (Series) , Quake built upon the technology and gameplay of DOOM, offering full real-time 3D rendering.

The Quake series is somewhat unusual in that its focus changes frequently; the story of Quake II has nothing to do with the original Quake. This is mostly because Quake II was originally intended to be a separate franchise (Quake II was initially only a tentative title), a plan that was thwarted when most of the other names id Software had tried to use were already taken. Quake III Arena has little to do with either of its predecessors, shedding the single-player missions in favor of deathmatch against the A.I. or online. One of the few unifying elements for the first three titles was the Quake logo-shaped rune for "quad damage" that made the player's weapons and attacks several times as powerful for a short duration. The first three titles pioneered id Software's next-generation graphics engine before it was licensed out. More Info »

The series includes:

Quake (1996) - a single player first-person shooter with various maze-like, medieval environments;
Quake II (1997) - not a direct sequel to Quake; id decided to revert to an existing trademark when they were unable to agree on a new name;
Quake III Arena (1999) - focusing on multiplayer action;
Quake 4 (2005) - sequel to Quake II with an increased emphasis on the single-player portion of the game;
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars (2007) - multiplayer-focused prequel to Quake II, taking place during the same war as Quake 4 and featuring similar gameplay to Small Wolfenstein (series) iconWolfenstein (series)
Quake Live (2010) - an updated version of Quake III Arena. More Info »



Link to official Quake (series) site

Official Website
Quake (series) (sometimes referred to as Quake, Quake 2, Quake 3, Quake 4, Quake III, Quake Live, Enemy Territory: Quake Wars, Quake Wars, ET:QW) was added by ellisgeek in May 2010 and the lastest update was made in Dec 2015. There is a history of activites on Quake (series) in our Change Log and Activity Log. It's possible to update the information on Quake (series) or report it as discontinued, duplicated or spam. If you want a nice widget to put on your website check these out.
Quake (series) Icon

Quake (series) alternatives for All Platforms×

Sort By: