Google Chrome Reviews

Post a Review
M

Meh

Review by MeganT about Google Chrome and Google Drive, Mozilla Firefox, Gmail, Mar 2016

I have a lot of issues with Chrome, for instance as has been already mentioned, your data is mined and your web activities tracked. It also sorely lacks the customization features of a browser like Mozilla Firefox. I will say that it's performance is decent (not great as it lacks said customization options found in Firefox) and it has the various apps that it interacts well with. Which may sound obvious but it's a nice touch.

All in all I'd recommend if you already use Google apps like Google Drive and Gmail.

Reply
balupton-image

Scary that Google tracks and stores every thing you do

Negative Review by balupton about Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, Safari, Sep 2015

Scary that Google tracks and stores every single thing you read, click, and write to target YOU with better adverts. Even more scary is the snowden revelations that the USA government has access to all of that information too. Much prefer a browser like Firefox and Safari, which author doesn't track and store everything I do. Personally, I like Safari.

Show 1 hidden replies.
balupton-image
 

Google Chrome isn't FLOSS though... Chromium is, but Google Chrome isn't — google are also slowly moving more and more from the FOSS Chromium over to the Closed Google Chrome eco-system, as they are doing the same with FOSS Android vs Closed Google Apps — http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/10/googles-iron-grip-on-android-controlling-open-source-by-any-means-necessary/

Unfortunately, Google's business model is to earn money through advertising by collecting information on us, which entails offering free software in exchange for information — https://medium.com/i-m-h-o/a-different-way-to-see-google-303df2011df0 — Apple's business model is to earn money on hardware and software, they have no financial incentive to be malicious with our information. Firefox is unfortunately in the middle, they have biddings on who get to be the default search engine.

M
 

I did not mention Chrome as FLOSS, and we think Apple does collect information about you. It may not use that for financial gains, but will share with Not So-secret Agency(NSA), with a tailored gag order in place Apple cannot disclose this information and we remain oblivious.
It has to follow the law of the land, other tech giants did this.
We know this thanks to Snowden leaks.

Finally we have FLOSS alternatives to replace and ensure some privacy.

http://www.ibtimes.com/apple-automatically-collects-safari-searches-user-location-os-x-yosemite-1708185

http://motherboard.vice.com/blog/what-apple-does-and-doesnt-know-about-you

http://www.businessinsider.com/r-apple-iphones-allow-extraction-of-deep-personal-data-researcher-finds-2014-25?IR=T

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/the-switch/wp/2014/10/20/apples-mac-computers-can-automatically-collect-your-location-information/

F
 

Big Brother watch at you! )))
Don't be scary. Your internet history and information is all in the net. In any browser, with any name.

LAN-image
 

It's impossible to be completely anonymous on the Internet. :( But the best we can do is to use Firefox with privacy.trackingprotection.enabled turned on in about:config.

Reply
JackFosters-image

Could the browser be better?

Positive Review by JackFosters about Google Chrome Sep 2015

I work with this browser for about 5 years. The speed, different tools for user comfort - everything was done to be the best.
Any other browsers loose comparing to chrome!

Reply
PythonNutt-image

Best browser there is.

Positive Review by PythonNutt about Google Chrome Sep 2015

Google chrome could never be replaced.
Pros:
- Google Chrome sandboxes every single tab extension & plugin, making it the most secure browser there is.
- Google chrome also has amazing sync capabilities. Chrome syncs bookmarks, extensions & settings, just to name a few.
- Chrome has some really good web apps. (i.e. Codevny, Polarr, Little Alchemy)
Cons
- Chrome tracks you. A lot.
- If customization is your thing, go with firefox. No "about:config" page in Chrome.
- If you use a lot of NPAPI plugins, Either find a PPAPI version or go somewhere else.
Final Opinion:
Overall, chrome is more polished, faster & secure than Firefox/Opera/Safari/IE/Edge.

Reply
purrlion-image

One of the best web browsers.

Review by purrlion about Google Chrome Sep 2015

Google Chrome is one of the best web browsers out there. It has integrated flash & PDF viewer.

Pros ->
- Has built-in flash & PDF viewer
- Doesn't take up much of the website so you can view as much web content as possible
- Allows you to use up-to-date flash on Linux
Cons ->
- Chrome tracks you. A lot.
- Chrome can't run NPAPI plugins (e.g. Unity)
- Promotes Google services all the time.

Reply
M

Much better than Firefox

Positive Review by mikefacer about Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, Apr 2015

I used to be a firefox user, but for a while now that browser was really buggy and kept either freezing or crashing. It was a chore to do anyhting.
That's why I finally made the jump to chrome. I'm glad I dit. Chrome is much more stable and offers just the same features.

One thing that I'd like chrome to have is the possibility to customize buttons etc.

H
 

Really? If you don't like the new version, just downgrade!
I can't believe that you can live without the ability to customize buttons. When Mozilla removed the ability to add extra bars to Firefox, I immediately got Classic Theme Restorer.
As for stableness, I use the second most unstable version (Firefox Developer Edition, previously known as Aurora) and only crash when I am quitting on my Macintosh. This is a very convenient time to crash, for me, at least.
Once I tried Firefox Nightly in multi process mode. That was unusable, but multi process mode has probably bean updated to usability by now.
My only complaint about Firefox, however, is that it's super slow, and takes way to much ram. Interesting enough, this didn't happen when I switched computers, even after I synced.
As for Chrome, I hate it. This is mostly due to the horrible themeing support and the lack of the ability to add toolbars. I use a lot of addons, so a browser without toolbars would be extremely overcrowded and virtually impossible to use for me.
To sum it all up: I love Firefox, and hate Chrome. Use Chromium at least! Chrome isn't even open source, or multi-platform!

Reply
vinaymaneti-image

About Android Development in Codenvy

Positive Review by vinaymaneti about Google Chrome May 2015

Pro:-
There is no need to set up java or any other IDE for Development, Come to Cod-envy and start developing the Application and share with your Colleagues.
you can access Any where, you all require is internet (as this is stored in the Cloud)

con:-
Need to support more Debugging process.

Reply
R

Great

Review by RoyalLegacy about Google Chrome Mar 2015

I love this browser

Reply
LAN-image

Average browser, popular just because of the owner

Negative Review by LAN about Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, Jul 2014

A couple of months ago I tried Google Chrome, but I was disappointed. I think Chrome is nothing special, it's popular just because of the owner (Google) and its power in the Internet world. Here are some things I didn't like:

  • It was slower than all other browsers.
  • Customization options are very poor.
  • It's very big (occupies about 250 MB of hard disk space).
  • If you have slow Internet connection, it doesn't work at all.
  • I'm concerned about privacy, because Google is a known tracker.
  • Extensions are often useless and bad.

I think that Firefox is much better than Chrome. It's much faster, safer, useful and user-friendly. It also values your privacy. Use Firefox, if you want a good browser.

OlaMohammad-image
 

I agree with you a little bit . But to be Honest it's not that bad .
But my favorite and first place browser is Firefox.

Unwasted_Youth-image
 

Google is primarily an Ad Server. Their "free" properties exist to help you help them profile every bit of you. That's bad.

Privacy is valuable and sacrosanct -- like honor. Don't whore it away. When any-you allows privacy to be pillaged- and raped it ERODES the Expectation of Privacy of everyone!! That's very not-good.

Reply
Unwasted_Youth-image

weak derivative

Negative Review by Unwasted_Youth about Google Chrome and Chromium, Jul 2014

Chrome is derived from Chromium.

Chrome has "all the better to track you with, my dear" components. That's bad. Privacy is precious and sacrosanct.

Use Chromium.

Reply
Venom88-image

Chrome compared to Firefox (updated Sep 2013)

Review by Venom88 about Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, Jan 2012

I used Firefox for years and now I'm realizing that Google Chrome is more complete and easier right after the installation.

First of all you don't need to install Flash Player to start surfing seriously because it's already integrated in the browser and it's updated automatically, so you don't risk for its various bugs and leaks.

If before the extensions were a Firefox exclusive, now, if you want switch browser, you can find similar addons on Chrome too. Adblock Plus is even easier on Chrome because you can create a filter right clicking on the ads you want to hide.

Moreover the integrated functionalities are various. Chrome has a very simple print manager and includes a good PDF viewer, absent from Firefox: you can fill this "lack" only with third part softwares like Foxit Reader that with its plugin can show PDFs in the browser too.

To view video files and listen to audio files on Firefox I must install Quicktime with its plugin (as I said in this topic) while Chrome can play at least mp3 and mp4 files directly.

Chrome is easier ti use for developers too: in fact with Inspect Element you can browse between website resources while on Firefox you can view only the source of the page.

Chrome is also safer because has a sandboxed structure and automatic updates.

What's missing?

Venom88-image
 

Moreover its start speed is incredible: Chrome starts almost immediately (6 seconds on system startup) while Firefox take at least 10 seconds (much more on startup). I thought Firefox had too many extensions that slowed down it, but I installed those extension on Chrome too and it didn't reduce its speed.

Venom88-image
 

I do not remember having written this review :P LOL

Meanwhile Firefox filled the gap with Chrome. I don't use Chrome anymore since November 2012 and I switched back to Firefox.
On Chrome the start speed is still better, it has some integrated functionalities, but

  • extensions aren't often working and some of them seem to be made just to steal your informations :(
  • automatic updates didn't work for me (neither on Windows 7, neither on Windows XP)
  • the look isn't fully customizable
  • an integrated PDF viewer is now available for Firefox too
  • Chrome Inspect Element can be replaced with Page Info on Firefox
  • adding Small Element Hiding Helper for Adblock Plus iconElement Hiding Helper for Adblock Plus to Firefox, block ads it's easy as on Chrome
  • adding some other extension, the integrated functionalities on Chrome to remove and duplicate tabs are even better on Firefox and the speed is not reduced now.
T
 

...and, best of all, Firefox isn't a Google product. Google has too much power in the Internet world.

I, too, switched to Chrome sometime ago (I think it was still in beta at the time), but I'm becoming increasing disillusioned with Google, so anything I can do to reduce exposure to Google's potential privacy breaches is a good thing.

T.

Reply
CeesT-image

Better than IE, faster than Firefox, cleaner than Opera.

Review by CeesT about Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, Opera, Internet Explorer, Dec 2011

Chrome 15 is more responsive and reliable than Firefox 8 and IE 8, but lacks the tenacity of Firefox at downloading files. Chrome says it supports addons like MAF, but fails to install any extension for me.

Reply