Gmail Reviews

GMX, if not gmail

Positive Review by adtyagrwl
about Gmail Apr 2016

Gmail is the best option. I suppose there's no dispute regarding that. But if not gmail, GMX is a pretty good service which is particularly hassle-free.


Cost-Effective Email Solution For Small Business

Positive Review by CoryIsBatman
about Gmail Apr 2016

If you're a small business I think Gmail is a great cost-effective tool. Integrates well with other Google apps.


Solid And Reliable Email Service

Positive Review by MeganT
about Gmail and Google Drive Mar 2016

Gmail isn't perfect but I do prefer its speed and overall performance. It's SPAM filter is a little too heavy in terms of putting important emails in SPAM. It's also a pain to open multiple emails in a seamless way. Still, it's hard to argue with overall performance, and integration with Google Drive is great.


Good Job!

Positive Review by TonyTheTiger
about Gmail Feb 2016

I was a bit hesitant when my employer asked we move away from Thunderbird to GMail. That said, while I am still a bit of a Thunderbird fan I have to admit that Google makes everything so accessible in GMail and it's really easy to have everything configured and accesible across a variety of devices. Also, implementing other Google services makes sharing docs and whatnot a dream.


Best Way for a small business to get email

Positive Review by jenstewart
about Gmail and Google Docs (Suite) May 2014

Gmail is the best way for a small business to get email.

Our organization has 9 people, the app is literally free, and it does everything that I would want. The Messaging is great, the search saves hours a week, and the collaboration is 2nd to none!

Beats setting up an Exchange server 7 days a week!


Advantages of (& AOL-Mail) over GMail

Negative Review by em4020
about Gmail and, AOL Mail Apr 2014

Disadvantages of GMail and AOL-Mail:

  • In opposite to you can send from your GMail-mail-address only a limited time. As soon as you receive dangerious spam-E-Mails (with higher risk since HeartBleed [6,7]) you must close your GMail-Account again, because it is not possible to change the primary address
  • If you use Gmail with your account, it's in April 2014 not possible to change your Gmail username after you've registered. You must, however, create another Google Account with a different Gmail username, if you will be a spam-victim one day, details see [1]
  • AOL: The primary Master Username will always have the Master Username status. This name CANNOT be changed, but you can remove the Designated Master Username status from any other Username at any time, Details see [5].
  • Google Mail is limited with 15GB, see
  • In AOL WebMail E-Mail Filters can be sorted, what is not possible using Google Mail. The missing E-Mail-Filter-Sorting-Feature ist the greatest weak point of Google Mail. ALL OTHER Mail-Accounts have a Mailfilter-Sorting-Facility. Mozilla Thunderbird has a good user interface for AOL Freemail and GMail using IMAP for access to your E-Mails from more than one Computer.
  • Thunderbird is able to put screenshots or pictures in new mails. This is 2009 not possible using only Google WebMail.

Advantages of (and AOL-WebMail):

  • In you can change all your 10 mail-addresses, if you will be a spam-victim without closing your account [8,9]: "Change your primary alias", "Ändern des primären Alias"

  • You can protect from hacking your account, because they offer a setting [3,4], that you need an additional security-code, sent per SMS, if you try to login the first time on another computer: "Two-step verification" or "Überprüfung in zwei Schritten". GMail also offers this security option [2] and call it also "Two-Step Verification" (Password + Phone).

  • AOL WebMail is ideal as E-mail archive or E-Mail-Backup utility for other Mail accounts because there is NO LIMITATION.
  • AOL can shift arriving E-Mails with E-Mail Filters in E-mail directories.

  • In distinction from GMail AOL WebMail is a FREE e-mail account with UNLIMITED storage.











No longer Like Gmail

Negative Review by endolith
about Gmail Oct 2013

Gmail was great when it started, but now that Google wants to become Facebook, they've been slowly killing off or breaking all the good features and degrading the user interface because they think it will appeal to the lowest common denominator of users.

I fear it won't be long until they kill Gmail completely, and turn it into "Google+ Messaging" with less functionality and more pointless crap. You can't even log into Gmail anymore without Google trying to force Google+ down your throat, trying to get you to create a public profile and publicly link everything you do online to your real name and face.

Also the spam filter has never worked reliably. It flags real, important mail as spam fairly often, so I have to go through everything manually in Thunderbird anyway.

I'd gladly pay for an alternative that provides the same ease of use, labels, filters, searches, inline chat and SMS, etc, but I don't know if that exists yet. From the look of it, though, Gmail will eventually be downgraded so much that any alternative will look like an improvement.

How much money does Google even make from selling our souls anyway? If they make $10 billion a year and have 425 million Gmail customers, that's only $2 a month for each user. I'd gladly pay more than that for all of Google's products without the BS.


Gmail WAS cool. Was.

Negative Review by RobertRedford
about Gmail Aug 2012

I loved Gmail back in 2004 when it offically launched. Even paid for getting a beta invitation back then. Silly. Now, eight years later the UI is totally different, loading the webmail of Gmail is slower than starting the Outlook software, their Junk filter reminds of Hotmail in 1999. Also I don't need a junk mail filter but a mail blocking filter. Hear me, Google? I don't need 500 "Viagra" mails each and every day in my mailbox.

Sad to see what happened to Gmail.

Thanks god there are better looking (and better working) alternatives out there. Alternatives where one can set up its own mail blocking filter.