Engine Yard Cloud Reviews

Support helps set them apart

Positive Review by vinceleonty
about Engine Yard Cloud Jul 2014

We have been using EngineYard Cloud for several years now. We have a couple of lower traffic Rails apps running on their stack. We have had no problems with downtime and have found them to be very responsive to our questions. I find their support to be timely and of good quality. Their people know what they are doing and are willing to dig if they can't come up with a response right away. Their offering gave us the extra flexibility we needed with our solution. I would definitely recommend them.

Reply

2 years later and no regrets

Review by JohnCBanks
about Engine Yard Cloud May 2014

We've been using Engine Yard for over two years now and we still strongly believe that Engine Yard was the correct solution for our needs. We had spent almost a year creating a Ruby on Rails application, we were ready to make a global launch of our application and we had less than 2 months to complete our entire external server environment. After deciding on we had a production ready site without hours and fully flushed out all of our required security and environment configurations within days. Engine Yard allowed us to have a smooth transition into the public market and has helped keep us running smoothly for years after.

Reply

Don't hire ops people who sleep and take vacations, hire Engine Yard instead

Positive Review by endymion
about Engine Yard Cloud Jul 2013

I don't have a budget for hiring ops people, but a couple of years ago I found myself responsible for a mission-critical SaaS app that requires high availability. I moved the app to Engine Yard for the premium support services, hoping that I would be able to continue to focus on software development instead of ops. What a fantastic decision. The Engine Yard support team has been unbelievable. They're available the moment that we have an emergency with our production service, and their non-emergency responses are handled by industry leaders in data science or Rails or Node or whatever it is that you're asking about. The Engine Yard support team has saved our app from certain doom several times. I can safely say that I wouldn't have been able to do it without them.

Reply

Engine Yard Rocks

Review by colinadams
about Engine Yard Cloud Jul 2013

We've been using Engine Yard to run Andromo App Maker for Android for some time now, and couldn't be happier with their platform, service or support. They really take a load off by not having to worry about the reliability of our back end. I'd definitely recommend you put them at the top of your list when considering your options.

Reply

Top notch support

Positive Review by jgbarr
about Engine Yard Cloud Jul 2013

Being in support myself, I know the pain of the support 'black hole' - you send in a support request, get an automated response, and then... nothing. You dont get an email, a ping, or anything else for 3 days, then you get an email saying 'good news, we fixed it!' at which point you realize they didnt fix what exactly you needed fixed.
EngineYard doesnt do that. You get an assigned support team member and as importantly, you are accurately triaged to the correct support department. What a timesaver! Not only that, they ping you and keep you up to date on their findings.
One of the best - the zappos of cloud providers

Reply

Great customer service!

Positive Review by benjobatumbakal
about Engine Yard Cloud Jul 2013

We've been using EY for awhile and my experience so far has been the best. They respond very quickly to your issues be it minor or critical and deploying is easy to learn since they have a lot of docs. My only comment is that some rarely used portions are not up to date, but all in all, everything has been great for us so far.

Reply

Excellent service and support

Positive Review by sebgrosjean
about Engine Yard Cloud Jun 2013

I'm now using EngineYard for close to 3 years and do not regret any minute, their solution is rock solid and their support keep getting better and better. I highly recommend EngineYard cloud hosting solution for someone serious about his online business.

Reply

Great virtual team member

Positive Review by chaupt
about Engine Yard Cloud Jun 2013

I often recommend to my startup clients that they should check out @engineyard. Not only do they provide a useful tool set on top of AWS, but they provide the critical support of an ops team you can actually easily communicate with. Rather than thinking of @engineyard as an "expensive way to go for AWS", I say, they are "a very economical sysops team with hosting thrown in".

Reply

EngineYard support is the best

Positive Review by deadkarma
about Engine Yard Cloud Jun 2013

I'm a big fan of engineyard and cannot say enough good things about their support team.
One Saturday morning i switched my app server from passenger to unicorn ( which was super simple ).

Because I renamed a utility instance during the rebuild, one of my custom chef recipes wasn't working.
Within 6 minutes of opening a ticket, I had an answer from their support teams with the changes I needed to get it to work.

Reply

Why Engine Yard is the best choice when considering PaaS

Positive Review by forstotwunder
about Engine Yard Cloud Jun 2013

Choosing PHP on Engine Yard Cloud, we have even more flexibility in languages and components to develop apps that scale from concept to production and meet our clients’ varying needs. With Engine Yard behind us from a technical and support perspective, we have the confidence to explore new ideas and push the envelope for our clients. If that wasn't enough, the EY support team and pandas provide a customer service experience that is impecable [especially in an industry that talks the talk but rarely delivers on that promise]

Reply