Deep Freeze Reviews

Deep Freeze vs Alternatives

Positive Review by Techzilla
about Deep Freeze Nov 2016

Deep Freeze
- Does what it promises
- Works with Mac & all Windows versions
- Suited for enterprise environments
- Support is very responsive

  • Maintenance fees are there , but its optional.

ALTERNATIVES
Reboot Restore - Freeware is ok, but limited features. Not recommended for enterprise environments. Known to cause conflicts in enterprise environments. Support issues take months to get resolved.
Drive Vaccine - It is discontinued now I guess. I've faced a lot of issues with it so not going there again
TimeMachine - Works only for Apple products
SmartShield - Used to be good. But ok support
Lethe - Use at your own peril.

For regulation/ compliance needs, go for Deep Freeze. More reliable & good support. If you have 5-10 PCs & your needs are limited, go for Timefreeze or Lethe- or Reboot to Restore

Reply

Bad software -1 Helpful

Negative Review by andrcotting
about Deep Freeze Oct 2016

Rubbish software that slows drastically Windows and which bugs reported by ticket are never treated.
Faronics seeks each year to collect more licensing fees. The perpetual license is not renewed for reasons unknown.
Windows updates management is not supported in the Standard version and PC puts considerable time to redo several times the same updates when stopping and starting Windows.

Reply

Decent Product but Bad Service

Negative Review by FanOfPancakes
about Deep Freeze and Reboot Restore Rx Sep 2016

I've been a long time user of Deep Freeze. Like many people, we needed it for our PC's and aside from Windows Steady State, there wasn't too many other options available. I liked the product, even if it wasn't the best product out there. So as time went on I had issues, so I contacted Faronics for support and kept getting people in India who didn't know English. Through my support calls, I couldn't get a straight answer on what I found out later were relatively minor issues.

When I pay a support fee, I expect that this will get me someone who speaks my language, not someone from a far off land who can't even understand me when I'm trying to confirm my account information! I ended up going with Reboot Restore Rx. Free program, and the support is all based in North America! Counts for something.

[Edited by FanOfPancakes, September 07]

Reply

Once Great; Now OK 1 Helpful

Negative Review by Beefdip
about Deep Freeze and Drive Vaccine Aug 2016

I've been a long time customer of Faronics. I started using Deep Freeze back in 2003.

At the time, they were the only real alternative to Windows Steady State that I knew of, and their pricing was pretty fair. Product itself was great.

As the years went on, I noticed that the program more or less stayed the same. There wasn't any new features per se, just support for this and support for that. Don't get me wrong, I like that the program supports Dropbox, but logistically, it shouldn't conflict with Dropbox in the first place!

There were some issues I had that I found, primarily in regards to installing Updates. Don't expect to be installing updates easily. There were times where I had to play around with a bunch of nonsense to get the program to update automatically.

I've since switched over to Drive Vaccine. It's very similar, but it's easier to use and has features I wish Deep Freeze had. As a long time customer I don't want to have to jump ship, but close to a decade with no real improvements? Like what am I paying you an annual fee for?

Reply

Nice Product i love it.

Review by abrarahsan
about Deep Freeze Mar 2016

I am using Deep freeze more than 8 year and it always work profeclty without any problem. I mostly use deep freeze 2006 and in windows Xp and Windows 7 but now i buy a Windows 10 pc and this new look of Deep freeze who's also compitable for Windows 10 is very dificult to understand i don't know it gonna work also like Deep freeze 2006 but want to try it, let's see...

Reply

OK Program, But There's Better

Negative Review by TonyTheTiger
about Deep Freeze and Reboot Restore Rx, Drive Vaccine Feb 2016

I have a lab with 20 computers, each need to be restored after each use. I used Deep Freeze for the past two years. I was finding that Deep Freeze was never triggering the restore which is kind of a big deal. I worked on this for 9 months waiting for a response from tech support and while they had a few suggestions. Nothing stuck.

This is when I sought out this site and found alternatives in Reboot Restore Rx and Drive Vaccine. Both programs worked on my test environment. So I purchased Drive Vaccine but on our 20 computers we had the same issue. It was finally resolved when I found out Fast Boot wasn't triggering certain tasks. I can now assume this was the same issue with Deep Freeze.

At this point we now use Drive Vaccine. It works well presently.

Reply

Program is ok but support isn't good

Review by RangersFan81
about Deep Freeze and Reboot Restore Rx Feb 2016

I used deep freeze on kiosks that we have at work as everyone said they were good software for this it was ok at first but as time went on we had a lot of issues. the program failed to restore computer on a few occasions and i had to update the machine myself so turn program off, run updates, and turn it back on.

been trying out reboot restore it's not so bad it's free so i dont expect all the bells and whistles but imo if you just need simple restore software you might as well try free program isntead of paying for a paid alternative that does the same thing haha

Reply

Free!!

Review by TheITGuru
about Deep Freeze and Reboot Restore Rx Feb 2016

A few months ago my budget for Deep Freeze was cut substantially. Worked with their sales reps and no one could give us the program for what we were looking for. When I looked online I tried Reboot Restore Rx. IMO it's the most akin to Deep Freeze; but while it shares similar functionality, it's completely free!

I've been using it for some time now, and I would say it works just as well. There's a more feature rich version but I dont need it for my needs.

Reply

More viable alternatives

Review by DOARipper
about Deep Freeze and Rollback Rx, Drive Vaccine, Clonezilla Aug 2011

I've done a lot of research on solutions similar to DeepFreeze (partly thanks to this site).

I have found the following software to be acceptable or even better than DeepFreeze.

Rollback Rx - Allows backup and restore (including auto-restore for public-access computers). It also allows snapshots and the ability to restore back and forward to any snapshot. It can also restore individual files from snapshots as well. However, this software does come with a price tag so it is not free.

Drive Vaccine PC Restore - Allows backup and restore and is specially designed for public-access computers. It can restore the PC whenever the PC is idle or when the user logs off or during a reboot or just the 1st reboot of the day or based on a schedule. It also can auto-accept OS patches and anti-virus updates. An "immune" area can be defined to allow persistent storage for data files so they are not wiped out when a restore is performed. This software also comes with a price tag but it is cheaper than Rollback Rx.

DriveImage XML - This can backup and restore an entire PC but can also make scheduled backups while the OS is running to overwrite a single backup file or to create a new backup file each time. To restore the system when the OS cannot be booted, you need to create a WinPE boot disc. They have instructions on how to use BartPE to create the rescue CD but this should be done BEFORE a restore is required. It is free for personal use but requires a license for commercial use.

Redo Backup and Recovery - This can backup and restore an entire PC even if the OS cannot be booted. However, to create and restore backups, you have to boot the system with a CDROM. This means it is a manual process. The backup files can reside on a network storage device or a locally attached device such as a USB hard drive which is handy for keeping offsite copies for disaster recovery. It boots Ubuntu and has a nice graphical interface. It is free for personal or commercial use!

Clonezilla - This does pretty-much the same thing as Redo and is also free. However, it uses a text-based interface which is a bit on the techy side.

Reply